Floral Intimacy

I was shopping at Trader Joe’s and there was a beautiful yellow flowered plant there that caught my eye.  It was a hibiscus, labelled as a Sunny Wind, and I was really drawn to this beautiful plant.  First, because the colors were so beautiful and bright — an orangy yellow that is one of my favorite colors (and, in fact, the color of my house!), and also because the beautiful detail of the flower looked like it would provide terrific practice for taking closeup pictures.

Over the next few days, I took lots and lots of pictures of the plant as each new flower emerged, at different times of day to get different light, with difference exposure and other settings on the camera, and from different angles.  Here are my three favorite pictures of the flower.   Look at the amazing insides of this flower!

HibiscusSunnyWind.071213

When taking such close pictures with a macro lens, you can’t get a clear focus on everything.  In fact, because of the physics of the camera and lens, you can get very little in focus, which is the biggest challenge (at least to me) in macro photography.   You focus on one part of the flower and other parts have a beautiful blur.  Photographers call this pleasing blur “bokeh,” which is a Japanese word.

This next picture is at a different angle, and focuses more on what I think are called the filaments and anthers of the flower (see the diagram below).  I really like the dreamy center of the flower, the bokeh in this image.

HibiscusSunnyWind.071813-2

And lastly, here is another from a different angle.  For this photo I played with the light coming at it to get a different tone of the yellow.  I really like the bokeh here too.

HibiscusSunnyWind.071813-1

I’ve been taking a lot of pictures of flowers, and have been quite fascinated by the centers of flowers, so I thought I should learn about what the different parts of a flower are called.  Here is a diagram that shows  the different parts of the flower.  I found this diagram here.

Parts of a Flower

I’ll have more flower pictures in future posts.

This entry was posted in Flower photography, Macro photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

