Darned dandy dandelion!

I’ve always loved the delicacy and beauty of dandelion seed heads, when they are perfectly round with little seeds.  As kids, my sister and I loved to blow them into the wind.  I’ve taken many pictures of those perfectly round and delicate dandelion seed heads, but this is the first one I took where part of the seed head was missing.  What was so incredible to me when I first saw this on my monitor is the amazing way that mother nature has chosen to attach each seed to the center of the flower.

IMG_3007_FS-PS

 

Here is a great lime-lapse video that shows the whole lifecycle of the flower: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UQ_QqtXoyQw

Darned amazing!

This entry was posted in Flower photography, Macro photography, Wild grasses and weeds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Darned dandy dandelion!

  1. The crispness of your photo is incredible. That level of detail makes the dandelion more beautiful.
    Thanks for posting the video. That’s the first time I’ve ever seen the lifecycle of a dandelion 🙂

    • Thank you, My Small Surrenders. That video was my first time too seeing the full lifecycle of a dandelion. How amazing and complex these apparently simple things in nature can be.

  2. Giulia says:

    Beautifully minimalist efficiency of nature!

  3. Katrina says:

    I love noticing the way plants distribute their seed. Seeds pods are some of my favorite works of art. Thank you for this!

Leave a Reply

