In Awe of the Forest

And now for something completely different!  While macro photography is the intended focus (pardon the pun) of this website, it won’t be the only type of photography I will post.  I think of this blog as “Details in Nature, Mostly.”  Today, the other extreme.  Large. Very large. Very very large!

A couple of weeks ago my husband and fellow nature lover and I went for a road trip up the coast of northern California, to see and hike in the old growth redwood forests.  These are enormous trees.  And I do mean enormous.  They are the tallest living things on the planet, hundreds of feet tall.  Sadly, the vast majority of the old growth forests that were once abundant in California are largely gone.  Only a few percent remain.  But those that remain are mostly protected, and the best place to see And take glorius hikes in these trees is in the forests of the Redwood National and State Parks.    Here is some good information on the coastal redwoods.

Because the forest is dense, and the trees are so large, it is rarely possible to capture a photo of the trees from bottom to top.  So I like to take wide views of the forest.  Here is my husband amidst the forest, as in awe of the forest as I am.

In Awe of the Redwoods

I actually took this panorama photo with my iPhone.  I love my Canon equipment, but I am also pretty impressed with what the iphone camera can do for a fraction of the cost of my Canon gear.

It is possible to capture a full photo of one of these giants, but it requires a LOT of special equipment and no fear of heights.  National Geographic has done it, in a great photo that you can find here.  If you’re interested in learning more about these redwoods, especially about the largest of the large, I highly recommend the book “The Wild Trees: A Story of Passion and Daring” by Richard Preston.

This entry was posted in Landscape photography, Nature photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Awe of the Forest

  1. Anonymous says:

    And if you want to learn about the ongoing struggle to save the few remaining ancient trees, at times one at a time, I recommend reading “The Legacy of Luna” by Julia Butterfly Hill

Leave a Reply

