A tiny moth

Taking a walk on Mt. Tamalpais with camera in had, I saw this tiny moth, no more than a half inch or so.  I had to take a lot of pictures to get one where the shutter was fast enough and the moth was still enough.  To my naked eye it looked like just a tiny tan moth with no other coloring, but I know by now that the macro lens can often reveal more, and indeed it did.  I love the patterns and the coloring on the wings.

Wow, I just noticed as I was about to post this that the end of the back wings look to have been damaged a little.

I tried to identify this moth in my bug guide, but could not find it.  So if you know what it is, let me know!

This entry was posted in Insect Photography, Macro photography, Nature photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A tiny moth

  1. charcamolson says:

    It’s actually a butterfly. Note the club-ended antennae. Moth’s have feathered antennae. Think this one is a common buckeye. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Junonia_coenia

    • Thank you so much for the identification!!! Yes, that is exactly what it is, as shown in the wikipedia link. And thank you for for educating me on the difference between the antennae of a moth vs a butterfly. I am happy to learn that! I am a photographer and a lover of nature, not a biologist, and always happy to learn more.

Leave a Reply

