Look up! Owl!

Yesterday I spent the better part of the day at Point Reyes National Seashore.  It was a NANPA photography meetup led by John Gunther.  I have done a night photography workshop with John, and he was the main reason that I went to the meetup, because John is both a great photographer and also a great teacher, very generous with his time and knowledge.

I brought my brand new camera with me.  I upgraded to a Canon 6D because (a) I wanted the image quality that a full frame camera affords, and (b) I wanted better low light performance, which was something pretty frustrating on my older camera.  I am so far very happy with the new camera.

We started at Chimney Rock, which is one of my favorite places to go in spring for the abundance and variety of wildflowers there.  Chimney Rock is also known for sea lions, often visible in several areas.  In the past I have been lucky to be very up close and personal with dozens of sea lions on the sand by the Historic Lifeboat Station there, but none were there this time.  We saw sea lions in other places, but at a distance.

The big treat of the day for me was this beautiful owl in the pine trees near the lifeboat station.  There were actually two of them, and we were able to observe them for quite some time.  That gave me time to put my really long lens on my trip and get some good shots of the owl.  This one is my favorite.  I am not exactly sure what type of owl that he is.  It is a little more difficult to tell because this fellow is actually sitting sideways, with his head turned.  Did you know that owls can turn their heads almost completely around?  My guess is that is owl is a short-eared owl, Asio flammeus.

PointReyesOwl-2.2015-0809

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Look up! Owl!

  1. Anonymous says:

    great shot!

Leave a Reply

